According to the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration, there are a variety of criminal and administrative penalties for driving under the influence in the state. These penalties may result in jail time, fines, license suspension, and other possible punishments.
Regardless of the charges you face, you still have rights according to the law. This guide explains the penalties that commonly accompany charges of impaired driving, so you can stay informed of your rights during the legal process.
Penalties for DWI
Maryland uses two separate classifications when it comes to impaired driving. DUI refers to blood alcohol concentrations (BAC) of .08% or greater, while DWI refers to BACs between .07 and .08%. As a result, the penalties for DWI are usually less severe.
When it comes to first DWI offenses, drivers face a jail term of up to two months, a $500 fine, and a six-month license suspension. Second DWI offenses incur up to one year in prison, a $500 fine, and license suspension ranging from nine to 12 months.
Penalties for DUI
The first DUI offense includes up to one year in jail, a $1,000 fine, and a possible license revocation period lasting up to six months. By the second offense, penalties increase to a possible two-year prison term, but with a mandatory minimum sentence of five days, a $2,000 fine, and possible license revocation up to one year.
If a driver receives two DWI convictions within a five-year period, they are subject to a mandatory license suspension period, participation in the state’s Ignition Interlock Program, and attendance of an alcohol abuse assessment and program.
Keep in mind that certain circumstances can increase penalties even further. This is the case when a driver receives a DWI or DUI charge while transporting a minor in their vehicle.